The different needs and experiences of women

Evidence shows us that different groups of women have a variety of experiences in the workforce.

The Strategy identifies six groups of women with specific needs and experiences:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women,
  • Culturally and linguistically diverse women,
  • Mature age women,
  • Rural and regional women,
  • Women with disability, and
  • Young women.

By focusing on these six groups, the Government acknowledges that efforts to improve women’s workforce participation must recognise that women are a diverse group, and policy responses must be tailored to respond to the different needs, aspirations and challenges of all Australian women.